Welcome to my Notebook!

My name is Nicole and I am a senior at the University of Oregon. I am studying at the School of Journalism and Communication and I hope to pursue a career in sports public relations once I graduate next fall. I will also acquire a business minor in my extra term at the University. While at UO I have submerged myself in campus activities, participating in Allen Hall Public Relations as an Account Supervisor for the past year and a half. I have also recently joined the University’s Ad Team, a group of about 10 students in a nation-wide advertising competition surrounding the creation of a new campaign for JCPenney. I regularly play intramural sports (champions of the spring co-ed volleyball league!). I am a basketball player at heart, and I played my freshman year in college at the University of the Pacific. Due to this bias that I carry with me, many of my posts will be about basketball and public relations. I will, however, do my best to broaden my horizon while simultaneously broadening yours, while I do my best to learn about the world of sports public relations.

The title of this blog, “Nicole’s Notebook”, denotes that this is my effort at scribbling down notes as news comes along in the sports industry. Although this blog is an assignment for a course that I am currently enrolled in, I will maintain it with weekly posts once the term ends. I invite you to join my journey through the ins and outs of PR and athletics, both professional and collegiate, and interact when you see fit. As a student of the game and the industry, I encourage feedback and welcome critique. As John Wooden once said, “Be prepared and be honest.” That is my motto for this blog, and I look forward to sharing with you!

Leave a Reply

