Hold the Butter and Flour, Please: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

This morning I was wide awake at 7 AM. This never happens. Usually I hit the snooze button a good five times before emerging from my sleepy slumber. On the rare occasion that my body actually reacts to my first alarm, however, I do one of three things: clean, run, or create some mess in the kitchen. After a sweeping glance around the already clean apartment and one look outside only to see that it was pouring rain, I poked my head into the kitchen to see what I could come up with. I’ve been really interested in all of the flourless baking that has been recorded in the blogosphere lately, and so after consulting a few food blogs, I found a recipe that seemed quick and easy. The best part? It included peanut butter, which, as one of my coworkers pointed out to me, is “one of the top five butters.” (I don’t know that I’ve had five types of butter, but I’ll go with it.)

I should also note that my coworkers have adopted the nickname “Hi-Top” for me, so this particular brand of peanut butter seemed like it might be good luck.

Recipe courtesy of Divine Baking.

  • 1 cup crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and locate two ungreased cookie sheets.

Combine all ingredients, except chocolate chips, in a medium bowl. I used my handy dandy KitchenAid, but a hand mixer works just as well.

Yes, I Instagrammed this. It’s becomming a problem.

Mix until incorporated, but don’t overdo it! Next, dump your chocolate chips in and give the dough a few good stirs with a wooden spoon.

Drop the dough by rounded balls onto your cookie sheets. For this, I used my tablespoon measure and created balls about 1 1/2 T big. It helps if you moisten your hands a bit as well so that the dough sticks to itself and not to you!

Bake for 10 minutes and allow the cookies to rest on the baking sheets for about two minutes before removing them to the cooling rack. Don’t attempt to move them right when you take them out of the oven as they will still be soft and will fall apart into a disappointing mess. Trust me.

Last step: pile them onto a plate and enjoy! I brought these into the office this morning and they received positive reviews all around.

bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

